From Margaret Atwood to Yann Martel!

http://www.travelwritinglife.com/2/post/2012/02/meeting-margaret-atwood-with-spinach-in-my-teeth.html

I’m still catching my breath after the five day swirling whirlwind that was the San Miquel de Allende Literary Festival. It bears mentioning that during my first winter in Ajijic, I noticed an article in The #GuadalajaraReporter about this world class writers´ and readers’ festival. That particular year, our lady of letters, Margaret Atwood was one of the keynote speakers.   That s why I included the link of an archival blog by Laurie Gough, a Canadian travel blogger who was facillitating a travel writing workshop that year. The posting relates her meeting with Atwood.

During my second winter,  I travelled to SMA for ten days over Navidad and at that time I submitted my name to volunteer. Didn’t really think about it again after I returned to Ajijic. But this third winter before I even arrived I got a message from one of the coordinators to ask me if I’d like to help out.  Really a no brainer, I readily agreed to be an usher not exactly understanding what that would entail other than I would get the opportunity to hear a stellar line up of key nite speakers including Canada’s own #YannMartel, author of ‘Life of Pi.´

Apparently this book written by  a previously little know author even captured the attention of the current president of the United States. Wikipedia had this interesting news byte about President Obama s reaction to the book.

In 2010 Barack Obama wrote a letter directly to Martel, describing Life of Pi as “an elegant proof of God, and the power of storytelling.”[32

Certainly, while I was ushering in the grand ballrrom when the Canadian maple leaf flag was projected on the background screen I did experience just a twinge of homesickness and yes, national pride for this rather unassuming but of course very skilled storyteller. Growing up in Montreal, even after the massive success of both his book and Oscar winning movie by the director, Ang Lee,  Mr. Martel apparently leads a normal life in of all places, the river city of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan!

Leave a Reply

