Too Old for a Working Holiday Visa? Travel Opportunities For All Ages

http://global-goose.com/travel-tips/work-abroad-30-plus/

This interesting blood remind me of when I was earnestly selling a teaching position in Japan at 35. This was before Daves ESL Cafe and the internet, you know when theFlintstones rode dinosaurs? Well, I sent out dozens of kickass resumes complete with a professional picture of me wearing my electric blue Simon Chang power suit and black boots outside amidst the snow and evergreen trees to add that rugged Northern Alberta je ne sais quoi.

Nothing. And then a couple of don’t call us, well call you form letters. I was becoming more and more despondent when at long last I got an interview in Vancouver. As I was living in Grande Prairie at the time it was a really big deal to take tune of from school and book a flight.

But date is a trickster. I attended the interview, thought I did really well until right at the end when interviewer who was representing  the the Japanese schools hiring teachers told me of the record that they were seriously considering only teachers under 30. Say what? All I could think of was why bother calling me in at all? Did they have a quota of candidates to fill regardless of this important criteria?

In any case,I thanked the interviewer for his our her honesty and left perplexed and yes,a bit resentful for having spent a considerable amount of money to fly to the coast from Northern Alberta. But fate, did have a consolation prize that was so much better. I met a man who was going to see and then help me move to Penticton in the middle of the school year the following winter.

I guess there’s a reason for everything.

Wish I could report a happy ending on this love connection but alas it was not to be. But that’s another convoluted story best shared with one’s homegrrls over copious amounts of a really fine, chilled VQA pink zinfandel brought back to the lair after a top down ragtop road trip of wine tasting!

2 thoughts on “Too Old for a Working Holiday Visa? Travel Opportunities For All Ages

  1. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s
    both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the
    nail on the head. The problem is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m vry happy that I found this during my search for something concerning this.

    1. Hello from Nanaimo, British Columbia,
      I returned to my NOB/North of the Border home on the first of May and am now catching up on wrapping up the Mexican part of my blog. I will continue to post reflections on my NOB life as I continue to radically downsize my worldly belongings prior to returning to my SOB/south of border life. Right at this moment I have a 10 by 10 storage locker that is fairly solidly packed right the top. Seems like I just haven’t missed much of what’s in those hastily packed plastic modular, stackable bins and also much of what belonged to my previous life in a 95 year old house in downtown Penticton. It’s a big, big job but now that my ten days of returning ‘grace’ has ended and also my birthday it’s time to tackle bit by bit/poco a poco my ‘stuff!’

Leave a Reply

