Frida Kahlo’s Wardrobe unlocked and on display after nearly 60 years | Messy Nessy Chic Messy Nessy Chic

http://www.messynessychic.com/2013/01/08/frida-kahlos-wardrobe-unlocked-and-on-display-after-nearly-60-years/

Regrettably, according to this article the exhibit of Frida clothes only ran until November 22nd of last year. However, if the exhibit was extended it might be worth a return visit back to Casa Azul in Mexico City to pretty well devote an entire day to standing in a block long queque in order to enter the very famous house.

I only had time to do a drive by twice, the second time in the fabuloso red double decker hop on/hop off Turibus that continuously circles the city in a number of basic and specialized routes. I fit in two rutas, one of which went past la Casa Azul. And ultra blue it really is!

image

image

These pictures were taken from the upper deck of the bus showing just a very small portion of the block long line up that crept forward at an excruciatingly slow pace. Since I got there mid afternoon and the museum closed at 4 p.m. I had to make a judgment call about the unimagined of actually reaching the entrance by closing time.

image

I elected to go for a lovely Oaxacan comida upstairs in a location with a view of the street. Downstairs there was a small mariachi band that played for the enjoyment of the upstairs restaurante patrons as well as passerbys.

I didn’t get to tour Casa Azul pero/but I did get up close and personal in El Bano Azul!

image

image

image

As you can see, I’m am leaving no toilet lid unopened to bring my readers a multi sensory vicarious experience of being a jubilada snowbird here in Mexico!  And if there are other shoestring snowbirds reading this I welcome written guest contributions, suggestions or feedback of all kinds.

Please adds comment immediately below any posting or email me directly at canadacalling 88@yahoo.ca.  Canadacalling88 is also my Yahoo I’m handle. AND my sporadic and intermittent on the fly 130 character tweets can be found on @jypsygrrl.

Leave a Reply

